Gumboot Friday

Talofa Lava and Malo e lelei.

Today is Gumboot Friday. Gumboot Friday, which was created by Mike king 4 years ago, is a day to raise awareness for mental health. Mental Health is important. Mike King, who is also a famous New Zealander comedian, was also depressed. When he made this day, he had the idea that if he struggles with depression, imagine what young depressed people feel. All of this to create Gumboot Friday.

My class and I have been pairing up with people we do not talk to and just connect with them. It is one of two ways to get into a good habit to enjoy your day. One is to take notice of all the beautiful things around you. The other is to connect with your friends and talk with them.

I also have learn’t many things. Like I did not know who Mike King was, I did not even know what Gumboot Friday was. But there is one fact that I learn’t that surprised me. Surprisingly, New Zealand has a high rate of suicidal rates, especially young people. I think this is the main factor why Gumboot Friday was made.

Here is our activity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *